There are three event privacy settings you can select from for your event:


  • Public (default setting): Your event can be accessed by anyone and be shown on your group page. It will also be discoverable on Peatix Search as well as on Google and other search engines.

  • Unlisted: Your event can only be accessed by those with the event URL. Your event will not be shown on your group page and will not be discoverable on Peatix Search as well as on Google and other search engines. Your group followers will not receive notification emails that you have published a new event. To share your event page with others, please provide them with the event URL.

  • Password-protected: Your event can only be accessed by those with the event URL and password. Your event will not be shown on your group page and will not be discoverable on Peatix Search as well as on Google and other search engines. Your group followers will not receive notification emails that you have published a new event. To share your event page with others, please provide them with the event URL and password. You can set your own password (at least 4 characters).


You can change your event privacy setting when creating an event. The default setting is "Public", but if you do not wish to share your event with everyone (i.e., you want to let only certain people know about your event), please select either "Unlisted" or "Password-protected".


It is possible to first publish your event as "Unlisted" or "Password-protected" and later change its setting to "Public" by accessing the Edit event page. This may be useful when you (and other people involved in hosting the event) wish to check if everything works okay before allowing everyone else to see the event page.

Please note, however, that your group followers will not receive notification emails that you have published a new event if you publish your event as "Unlisted" or "Password-protected" and later change its setting to "Public".


How to change event privacy settings


1.  When creating a new event, go to "Event Privacy Setting" on the Details page and click "Change setting".



2. The following screen appears. Select your desired privacy setting.



If you wish to make your event unlisted, please select "Unlisted" and click "Preview & Save" at the bottom of the page.


If you wish to make your event password-protected, please select "Password-protected", enter a password (at least 4 characters) and click "Preview & Save" at the bottom of the page.




* In case you forgot your event password, please access Event Privacy Setting on the Edit event page and click "Change setting" to view your password. You can also change your password here.